The Optometric Fees Negotiating Committee (OFNC) is the recognised negotiating body for General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) fees and grants for community optometry.  Its members include the Association of British Dispensing Opticians, the Association of Optometrists, the British Medical Association and the Federation of Opticians.

The committee:

Chair: Trevor Warburton (AOP)

Secretary: Ann Blackmore (FODO)

ABDO: Sir Anthony Garrett

AOP: Henrietta Alderman, Peter Hampson, Gordon Illet

BMA: Simon Longstaff, Tom Andrews, Professor Nagasumbramanian,

FODO: Richard Edwards, David Hewlett, Stuart Burdett, Alan Tinger

Each year the OFNC hold a strategy planning day (August/September) to prepare for the next round of negotiations. OFNC is always grateful to receive comments, advice and perspectives from Optical Confederation members and can be contacted via [email protected]


Press Statements:


Papers relating to the 2017-18 negotiating round to set the fees for 2018-19:


Papers relating to the 2016-17 negotiating round to set the fees for 2017-18:


Papers relating to the 2015-16 negotiating round to set the fees for 2016-17: